And so it begins

Though this semester is only half over, I have enrolled in a selection of courses for Spring 2013 and know that the rest of this semester will go quickly. Once you write in a week’s worth of “No School” for Thanksgiving break on the calendar and then return to campus from the festival of eating and sleeping that is said week, there are precious few weeks of Fall 2012 left. Then the studying begins, final projects come together and it truly is time to start in on the next round of courses. And so, as silly as it seems to already be looking at next semester because it seems so far away, it must begin. Likewise for, at least considering, what I really want the basic framework of the rest of college (and perhaps a bit beyond that) to look like in my life.

My plan at this point: the Magazine Arts and Culture Journalism interest area. I’ve been accepted; I’ve enrolled in the first class; I’ve already begun worrying. I am very excited to begin my sequence next semester, but I can’t help but worry a little bit. Firstly, because I’m a worrier; it’s simply in my nature. Secondly, because I feel as though this is the beginning of the rest of my life; it directly affects what I would like to do with my career and so, as a combination worrier/blow-things-out-of-proportion expert, I feel like my whole life could unravel in front of me if I mess this up. Thirdly, because the J4450 News Reporting class that I will be taking to kickstart this interest area seems a bit daunting.

Then again, so did J2100 last year and so did this Multimedia class. I did the same worrying thing before both of these courses. Yet here I stand, having successfully made it through J2100, and I am still surviving this course (hopefully a good sign for the weeks to come). I have to keep this in mind when the blowing things out of proportion setting kicks into high gear.

News Reporting may seem daunting now, and it likely will be stressful and hard to manage in the moment. But somehow, I will find my way through it, and I will learn a lot about being a good journalist in the process. As daunting as it seems, reporting for the Missourian is also something exciting to which I am looking forward.

I couldn’t help but begin to feel a little overwhelmed during the lecture on Monday as I thought about all the things to come in my time as a journalism student at the University of Missouri, but I need to remember to breathe. It’s going to be hard, but I’m becoming a journalist in the process and moving a step closer to what I’d like to do with my life.

In the meantime, I’ll just look at some art magazines for inspiration to get me through:

Juxtapoz Magazine

Aesthetica

Plus: Five Arts & Culture Magazines that Rock Social Media

 

 

Leave a Reply

